Strategies That Work for Science Teachers Using Technology

Current Status
Not Enrolled
Price
$5
Get Started

Watch this video stopping and starting as needed.

Rational and Outcomes for this Professional Learning

Description

This video lesson is filled with practical strategies for teachers interested in integrating technology into the science classroom.

Rationale

This video is needed for science teachers to catch up and keep up with the resources found online.

Outcomes After Watching the Video

  1. After watching the video lesson teachers will have new resources to use with students.
  2. Teachers will have fresh new ideas for the science classroom after watching this video.
  3. After completing this lesson teachers will have a collection of resources to share with colleagues.
Discussion Forum for Science and Technology

Please add your comments in the forum and read and respond to two additional posts.

Online Resources Referenced in the Video

Resources and Tutorials

Sugar Kills Blog http://sugarkills.us/

The Middle Web http://www.middleweb.com/6563/interview-the-sugarkills-gang/

Calorie Counter website http://www.calorieking.com/foods/calories-in-chocolate-milk-chocolate-bar_f-ZmlkPTU4NDc1.html

Cluster Map http://www.clustrmaps.com/map/Sugarkills.org?utm_source=widget

Kiva https://www.kiva.org/

The Voice Company https://www.vocalid.co/

An area calculator https://itunes.apple.com/us/app/geometry-area-calculator/id492594326?mt=8

PhotoMath app https://photomath.net/en/

Wolfram Alpha https://www.wolframalpha.com/

Flickr for images https://www.flickr.com/

Google Classroom https://classroom.google.com

Science Daily https://www.sciencedaily.com/

Wonderopolis http://wonderopolis.org/

Explore Learning Gizmos http://blog.explorelearning.com/

An article about computer science https://www.edsurge.com/news/2016-05-05-k-12-computer-science-initiatives-are-exciting-but-are-they-enough?utm_content=bufferbf827&utm_medium=social&utm_source=twitter.com&utm_campaign=buffer

Vocabulary http://blog.bedrocklearning.org/blog/teaching-science/teaching-vocabulary

NGSS projects http://www.dreamup.org/free-curriculum/

Ask Smithsonian http://www.freetech4teachers.com/2016/09/fun-and-short-smithsonian-videos.html#.V-GX2pMrLR1

Ambitious science teaching http://ambitiousscienceteaching.org/

The gallery http://ambitiousscienceteaching.org/video-series/

Biology resources http://www.biologyguide.net/

Flip Quiz http://flipquiz.me/

Go Formative http://goformative.com/

Kahoot https://getkahoot.com/

Plickers https://www.plickers.com/

Discussion Questions

Review or Dissemination Question

  1. Why did the students start the blog #SugarKills.us?
  2. What is a Cluster map and how are they used?
  3. What is Kiva, and how can your students get involved?
  4. What is the Voice Company trying to do, and why?
  5. What are your thoughts about the app PhotoMath?
  6. How could you use the website WolframAlpha?
  7. Why is Twitter important for professional development?
  8. Of all the resources, what is one that you will introduce to students and why?
  9. What are your thoughts about the cell cake project?
  10.  Which of the formative assessment website will you try with students?