Strategies That Work for Librarians and Media Center Directors

Rationale and Objectives for this Professional Learning

Description

This is a professional development lesson about current trends with technology in the media center.

Rationale

It is a challenge to find specific professional development for librarians and media center directors, therefore we created this module.

Outcomes After Watching the Video

  1. After this module the participants will be able to research a variety of resources.
  2. As a result of this lesson participants will be able to disseminate resources to colleagues.
  3. After the lesson participants will have new resources to share with students.
Resources From the Video

The School Library Journal http://www.slj.com/#_

Breakout Edu http://www.breakoutedu.com/

Common Lit https://www.commonlit.org/

Five ways libraries are adapting for the future http://geiendorsed.com/blog/beyond-the-classroom/five-ways-libraries-are-adapting-for-the-future/?utm_content=buffer9862a&utm_medium=social&utm_source=twitter.com&utm_campaign=buffer

Go Guardian https://www.goguardian.com/

Skype in the Classroom https://education.microsoft.com/skype-in-the-classroom/overview

Your Paper Brain and Kindle Brain http://www.pri.org/stories/2014-09-18/your-paper-brain-and-your-kindle-brain-arent-same-thing

A great reading strategies book http://www.heinemann.com/readingstrategiesbook/

Epic https://www.getepic.com/

Makerspaces https://colleengraves.org/awesome-elementary-library-makerspace-resources/

Renovated Learning http://renovatedlearning.com/makerspace-resources/

Genius hour   http://www.geniushour.com/

An article about genius hour http://www.edutopia.org/blog/genius-hour-essentials-personalized-education-nichole-carter

Getting started with genius hour http://www.edutopia.org/groups/personalized-learning/802456

Genius hour resources http://www.livebinders.com/play/play?id=829279

The Show Me librarian http://showmelibrarian.blogspot.com/p/all-things-steam.html

Skokie Library Boombox https://skokielibrary.info/services/boombox/

Watch a video about the Boombox https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=QubBpTeAptU

Library Girl http://www.librarygirl.net/2013/04/whats-stem-got-to-do-with-it-school.html

STEM resources http://www.librarygirl.net/2013/04/whats-stem-got-to-do-with-it-school.html

Pinterest STEM resources https://www.pinterest.com/sljournal/steam/

Simply STEM resources http://simplystem.wikispaces.com/School+Age+Programs?responseToken=02ccb3fcac427df4a451ce277f4f12ee5

Tinker https://tinkergroup.wordpress.com/

Robots Kitchen https://robottestkitchen.com/about/

STEAM pop-up programs http://www.alsc.ala.org/blog/2014/10/thinking-about-steam-as-pop-up-programs/

Discussion Questions
  1. What is happening currently with technology in the media center?
  2. What are three specific things you would like to change about the physical space?
  3. What programming would you like to change?
  4. Scheduling is such a challenge, what would you like to change about yours?
  5. How are you currently using social media for personal professional development?
  6. After watching this lesson, what are your thoughts about BreakoutEDU?
  7. What are your ideas for creating a makerspace?
  8. How could Genius Hour become part of the media center?
  9. What are three specific resources you will share with colleagues?
  10. What is happening with STEM/STEAM in your building and how would you like to change?

Course Content